California is now the third state in the nation to ban smoking in the car with minors. The new law imposes a fine of up to $100 for smoking a pipe, cigar or cigarette in a motor vehicle with another person 17 or younger. The infraction is a secondary offense, meaning you can be fined for it only if you're stopped on suspicion of another, more serious offense. And the fine applies regardless of whether the car is moving.
The "Smoke-free Cars with Minors" law covers parked cars and cars in
motion, and the police can pull you over just to see if you are smoking
with a child in the car. California joins three other states
in banning smoking in a car with a child and the crime is punishable by
a fine of up to $100. A 2006 Surgeon General's Report says there is no
safe level for exposure to second hand smoke and children can't exactly
defend themselves, why not make it one of your New Year's Resolutions and JUST QUIT?